Creating Happy Learning

After watching the TED Talk and reading Hunt’s blog post it made me open my eyes to the type of education I want my students to be engaged in. Hunter’s blog post made a great analogy when he was talking about viewing education behind lenses. We as teachers should make education fun and easier to understand just as glasses would improve a humans sight. I thought that all three of the ideas offered in Hunter’s blog post were great. However, I think the best was the making point. I am the type of student that remembers better if I practice and make something. Not only that but, it gives me something to refer back to. I think that is a concept I would use in my classroom. I would want to do a lot of hands on projects that would come up clear in students’ minds. So many times my teachers would ask if I remember something. However, since we didn’t do anything to make that certain concept stand out it just runs together. Making something would allow the student to have those concepts stand out in their mind. Not only that but I thought that the hacking concept was very interesting.I always thought hacking is what we view as today. I didn’t think that hacking could actually be a positive thing. I would like to take ideas that the curriculum has given me but hack them to make them more fun and creative for the students.

With that being said, it brings me to why I thought the TED Talk video was so interesting. I could really relate to the boy about how he didn’t know what he wanted to be when he grew up. I didn’t really know what was out there. Nothing in school really made a clear career choice appear to me. I really liked how he had different classes offered that could relate to his interests while also learning the core concepts. I think that is why I want to strive to understand my students so that they can explore and learn more about what their interests are. Or even pick up new interest that they didn’t even know the they had.

By watching the TED video and reading Hunt’s blog post it really opened my eyes about how learning can be for some students. In fact, I think that many students lose their creativity because we don’t allow them to be creative. These two sources have opened my eyes that I want to be a different then what I had. I want to make learning fun for the students again!

 

6549664491_6b50d087e4

Photo CC By: University Of Michigan Medical School

Word Count: 438

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Creating Happy Learning

  1. I love how you are put so much thought and thinking about how you want to teach you classes one day. Knowing how you learn can really benefit your students! Just keep in mind though, not all your students are going learn the same way as you. Each individual student has their own unique way of storing and remembering things. So, maybe you can incorporate even more different types of options for your projects.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree more! I think that is what some teachers lack today is that they don’t know how the students learn and don’t know the best way to help them. I will definitely keep that in mind! Thanks for your comment:)

      Like

  2. I very much enjoyed the TED Talk and the blog. It’s great that you are able to connect the material in the video and post to the kind of educator you want to be. I also agree with the fact that although I went through school, I never really and still don’t really know what I want to do when I grow up. I do know that I want to be happy, just like Logan, and I think it’s important that we incorporate that need into the traditional school setting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

