Personal Learning Network

This is a concept that I have never heard of before. After doing a little research I found that this is an informal learning network that consists of the people a learner interacts with and is within the same learning environment. However, I found that there is way more to it than that. There is a few steps that are deeper and more complex about the PLN.

First, the personal part of the PLN involves multiple parts of the personal side of things. This is making connections and building personal relationships with people inside of the schools. These are people such as teachers, school administrators, or professors. This is so important because no where you are in the world there is always someone in the world that is online that can answer your questions or better your education. Next, is the learning part of the PLN. Once you have built the personal aspect of your PLN you can share what you have learned. This is the time you share your own ideas, resources, or collaborate.This is so helpful because we all learn differently, if we share what we have learned in different media sources. Not to mention you can learn 24/7 because the information is always available. Thirdly, is the networking aspect. This is a global learning network, enabling people to tap into and share diverse, global perspectives on teaching strategies, educational issues, and technologies. If we just take the time we can effect other teachers and students all over the world.

View the video below for more information about PLN and the three parts of PLN!

Video CC By: Teachers Challenge

Now, after doing a little more research about how to create I have found there are many steps to take to have an effective PLN. The first step that I found is helpful is to create a Twitter account. Once the Twitter account is created then focus on following other educators or education groups. This will help you get a foot in the door for more networking. Then, get active in a Google+ and get connected with educators that way. Not to mention, there are various chat groups and blogs you can get involved in to connect with other educators. Now, I have noticed that the key to having a successful PLN is to be connected on various social media sites so that we can learn all the time.

5046744331_c0b17dac1c_b

Photo CC by: Your Personal Learning Network

After all this researching I have found that these can be very beneficial to my students and to me as an educator. They can help my students get involved in education in many different cultures from around the world. This will help my teaching because I can exchange ideas with these more experienced teachers too. Especially when I am first starting to teach they can give me insight on how to teach differently. I have deiced that I want to use this when I start teaching. I have been so nervous about my lesson plans my first few years of teaching that I think advice from around the world will really help me out. PLN  meant to help improve teaching and improve the student’s learning.

4 thoughts on “Personal Learning Network

    1. Thank you! I found it helpful to first know what they were because I did not know. Then it helped me create my own more easily!

      Like

Leave a Reply

